4 Reasons I Love Fall

OK, maybe I’m jumping the gun here because the sun is still shining and the birds are still (I think?) chirping, but I. Love. Fall. Hands down my favorite season. Why? Because of the weather, the accessories, the colors and the food.

Weather

Don’t get me wrong. I love sun and heat and glorious sunshine just as much as any other sun, heat and glorious sunshine-loving person. It’s just that sometimes the sun and it’s heat gets a little too glorious and it gets just plain old uncomfortable. It’s hard to rock an outfit when, at the back of your mind, you’re wondering about how sweaty you might look. With fall it’s still kinda warm, but kinda cool. And with the cooler weather brings the warmer, softer fabrics. I’ll admit it right now: I kinda sorta really have a thing for cashmere. And really, who doesn’t love the feel of something lusciously soft against their skin? Can’t say I’ve ever met someone who loved a scratchy sweater.

Accessories

Boots. Hats. Scarves. Gloves. If I go into detail about each one this post might become an essay. I will admit that the admiration for gloves is a fairly new one. I think it started when the Sex and the City movie came out a few years back. There was the scene where Carrie is calling Samantha from a pay phone, and when Samantha asks why she says it gives her a reason to “bust out the gloves.” Not that I want to start making all my calls from pay phones, but I started wondering why I hadn’t ever thought of getting gloves for more style-based reasons than dont-get-frostbite reasons. Silly me.

Colors

Fall colors are mostly sunset colors, and who has ever seen a sunset and thought, “ehh?” Something about the mix of pinks, reds, oranges and yellows make me feel all warm and toasty inside.

Food

Speaking of warm and toasty, fall weather brings with it the perfect time for curling up in front of the fire with a mug of hot apple cider or hot cocoa. And let’s not forget about Thanksgiving, which is, to me, the greatest food holiday of them all.

So tell me, what are your favorite things about fall??

Leave a Reply

